Awards > Botany

Stephen L. Timme Excellence in Botany Award

About the Award

This annual award is given to someone who has made an important contribution to botany in the state of Kansas in the form of research or education.

About Stephen L. Timme

Dr. Stephen Lee Timme was Emeritus Professor of Botany and Director of the T.M. Sperry Herbarium at Pittsburg State University. He was board member from 1990-2006. One of Stephen's greatest accomplishments was promoting a multi-day annual meeting that includes workshops, outings, and other social activities to increase attendance and promote education. His concept has evolved into the 3-day Annual Wildflower Weekend. Stephen established the Excellence in Botany Award, and the award was named for him posthumously in 2012. He also led the first formal effort to change the name of the organization from the Kansas Wildflower Society to the Kansas Native Plant Society. Though unsuccessful during his presidency, Stephen's idea was endorsed by the membership in 2005.



  • The award is given annually.
  • The deadline for nominations is July 1.
  • The recipient receives the award at the KNPS Annual Meeting held each fall as part of the Annual Wildflower Weekend.