Awards > Botany > 2011 Recipient

Stephen L. Timme Excellence in Botany Award

2011 Recipient: Gordon & Martha Barnhardt

Gordon & Martha Barnhardt • Bucklin, KS

Gordon and Martha Barnhart own 3 large high quality prairie tracks in Leavenworth County, KS. Gordon has generously provided access for researchers with the Kansas Biological Survey and Kansas Native Plant Society to these prairies. Gordon is actively managing these prairies to further increase their quality. This is a significant contribution to botany as large tracts of prairie are very scarce in northeast Kansas.

Gordon & Martha were not present at the annual meeting to receive their award.