Awards > Scholarship

Mary A. Bancroft Memorial Scholarship

About the Scholarship

This $1,000 scholarship is awarded to support graduate student research that enhances our understanding of native plant species or their ecosystems and conservation. This scholarship is open to all graduate students regularly enrolled in a Kansas college or university. Proposals must be technically sound and directly applicable to our priorities in Kansas. The scholarship was established in 1998 and honors the late Mary A. Bancroft.

About Mary A. Bancroft

Mary was a long-time member and supporter of KNPS from Ottawa, Kansas. 

Proposal Requirements

  1. Project Description: Significance of proposed work, objectives, methods and materials, design and analysis, outcomes
  2. Budget:  Identify how the funds will be used. As a scholarship award, the money may be used for tuition, research, or a combination thereof. 
  3. Time Line:  When will the project start, what milestones will be set, when will objectives be met.
  4. Career Goals: Where do you hope to be in your future career.  
  5. Personal Statement: How did you become interested in plants.
  6. Letters of Support (2):  Each not to exceed one page; one must be from the Graduate Advisor.
  7. College Transcript: a copy of your transcript


Assessing Proposals

Proposals will be assessed based on the merits of the proposed project and how well they fit the objectives of the scholarship.  The budget will not be used as a basis for assessing or ranking proposals.

Reviewers will consist of scientists and non-scientists, so keep your narrative readable to a wide audience. The KNPS Awards Committee will review applications and announce results in mid-April. 


Awardees will receive recognition at the KNPS annual meeting. They will also be recognized in the KNPS newsletter and on the KNPS website. 


Successful applicants will agree to include the following acknowledgement in all publications resulting from research supported under this program:  "The Kansas Native Plant Society provided partial support for this work."


The deadline for receipt of proposals is March 15. Award recipients will be notified by April 15. Funds will be sent to recipients by May 15.


Help publicize the scholarship by using our Scholarship Request for Proposals.

Past Recipients

  • 2017: Samantha Sharpe
  • 2016: Matthew Gilliart
  • 2015: Courtney Masterson
Prior Years
  • 2002: M. Alison Hamm; Friends University; Wichita, KS
  • 2001: Lorrie Parrish; Pittsburg State University; Pittsburg, KS
  • 2001: Shelly Wiggam Harper; Kansas State University; Manhattan, KS
  • 1999: Tom Benenati; Emporia State University; Emporia, KS
  • 1998:Sarah J. Kafka; Benedictine College; Atchison, KS