Board of Directors 2022

KNPS Governance

KNPS is led by a Board of Directors and Officers that are governed by our Bylaws. The Board of Directors meets three times a year. Often board meetings are associated with outings to locations across Kansas.

KNPS also holds an annual membership meeting in the fall, which is linked with our Annual Wildflower Weekend (AWW).

KNPS members are invited to attend both board meetings and the board meeting outings.

Minutes are maintained for board and membership meetings.


The society has standing, action, and ad hoc committees that help expedite our business.

Members are encouraged to serve on committees.

Standing Committees include the following:

  • Budget/Finance (administrative)
  • Executive (administrative)
  • Membership (administrative)
  • Nomination
  • AWW (action)
  • Awards (action)
  • Public Policy (ad hoc)
  • Education (administrative)
  • Printed Newsletter (action)
  • Plant Resources and Stewardship (action)
  • Website, Events, Publicity & Outreach (action)


In the 1970’s and 1980’s, the Kansas Wildflower Society (KWS), which became the Kansas Native Plant Society, was sponsored by the Mulvane Art Museum at Washburn University in Topeka.

From 1992 to 1993 sponsorship moved from the Mulvane to the R.L. McGregor Herbarium at the University of Kansas in Lawrence. The R.L. McGregor Herbarium serves as the archive for KWS/KNPS files, holding all of the past minutes, newsletters, and official documents. It also provides a point of contact for the public and provides basic administrative functions for the organization.

KNPS Board of Directors

The Board of Directors serves as the governing body of the KNPS. The offices of President, President Elect, Past President, Secretary, and Treasurer are elected from the Board. There are no term limits to service on the board.

Requirements and Expectations

An individual who serves on the Board:

  • Is a current members of KNPS
  •  Is a resident of Kansas
  • Actively promotes the goals of the society
  • Serves on one or more KNPS committees
  • Serves a 3 year term

Attendance at board meetings is strongly encouraged.

Board Nominations

Nominations are made by the Nominations Committee and board members’ terms are approved at the Annual Meeting. If you would like to be considered for serving on the KNPS Board of Directors, contact us.

KNPS Current Board Members

Asterisk (*) indicates non-board member
Chair is listed first.
Committee Duties
Nadine Champlin
Earl Allen
Krista Dahlinger
Craig Freeman
Dee Scherich
Tax reporting
Book & merchandise sales
Administer Scholarship & Awards funds
Anthony Zukoff
Position Open
Nadine Champlin
Krista Dahlinger
President Elect
Craig Freeman
Jane Freeman*
Manage Membership
Create new member packets
Manage renewals
Craig Freeman
Earl Allen
Mike Haddock
Seeking additional members
Recruit nominations for board of directors
Recruit nominations for officers
Manage board terms
Annual Wildflower Weekend (AWW)
Representative from AWW Location

President and Board Members
Oversee Annual Wildflower Weekend (AWW)
Select regional location
Coordinate speakers, book sale, silent auction
Schedule botanizing & informative outings
Coordinate KNPS annual membership business meeting
Publicize AWW
Mike Haddock
Craig Freeman
Anthony Zukoff
Seeking additional members
Oversee Photo Contest
Oversee Rachel Snyder Landscape Award
Oversee Stephen Timme Botany Award
Oversee Mary Bancroft Scholarship
Oversee Sheldon Cohen Service Award
Oversee Non-profit Funding Award
Public Policy
(ad hoc as needed)
Shirley Braunlich
Pamela Tennison-Rindt
Oversee Roadside Management Position
Review Legislative Changes
Lorna Harder
Mike Haddock
Michael Heffron
Cynthia Rhodes
Oversee Little Bluestem
Oversee Growing Native Wildflowers Handbook
Oversee Recommended Books
Oversee Eco-regions
Oversee Kansas Plant Galleries
Oversee College Plant Courses
Oversee Kansas Herbaria
Oversee State Flower Facts
Oversee State Grass Facts
Oversee State Tree Facts
Oversee How to Host a Wildflower Tour
Oversee Pocket Guides
Oversee Top Ten Pollinators
Printed Newsletter
Newsletter Team Needed
beginning with January 2024 Winter Newsletter

Contact us at email@ksnps.org for description of duties.
Gather articles for KNPS Newsletter
Edit printed newsletter
Publish & mail printed newsletter
Plant Resources & Stewardship
Brad Guhr
Michael Heffron
Lorna Harder
Oversee Wildflower of the Year
Oversee Sources of Native Seed & Plant
Oversee Gardening with Wildflowers
Oversee Eco-type Seed Collecting
Oversee Kansas Invasive Plants
Oversee Benefits of Native Plants
Oversee Definition of Native Plants
Oversee Kansas Endemic Plants
Oversee State Plant Icons Brochure
Oversee Roadside Plants
Oversee Stewardship Resources
Website, Events, Publicity & Outreach (action)

Krista Dahlinger
Shirley Braunlich
Anthony Zukoff

Promote KNPS through webpage and social media
Coordinate relationships with related Organizations

Krista - Response, e-mails. Events Calendar, Website editor
Shirley - Oversee Native Plant Proclamation

KWS/KNPS Past Presidents

The following have served as President of the Kansas Wildflower Society (1979 – 2004), and the Kansas Native Plant Society (2004 – present).

  • 2023-24- Anthony Zukoff
  • 2021-22- Krista Dahlinger
  • 2019-20- Brad Guhr
  • 2016-18- Phyllis Sherich
  • 2014-15 – Michael Haddock
  • 2012-13 – Mickey Delfelder
  • 2010-11 – Craig Freeman
  • 2008-09 – Michael Heffron
  • 2006-07 – Jeff Hansen
  • 2004-05 – Valerie Wright
  • 2003- Dwight Platt
  • 2001-02 – Lorna Harder
  • 1999-01 – Dwight Platt
  • 1997-99 – Carroll Morgenson
  • 1996 – Ralph Brooks
  • 1995-96 – Stephen Timme
  • 1993-94 – Ralph Brooks
  • 1992 – Jack Walstrom
  • 1990-91 – Rachel Snyder
  • 1988-89 – Sheldon Cohen
  • 1986-87 – Ted Barkley
  • 1984-85 – Howard Reynolds
  • 1983 – Roger Coleman
  • 1981-82 – Ross Johnson
  • 1979-80 – Mary Jo McClure

KNPS Board Meetings Across Kansas